General Information about Khanty-Mansiysk autonomous okrug-Ugra

General Information about Khanty-Mansiysk autonomous okrug-Ugra

The symbols of Khanty-Mansiysk autonomous okrug-Ugra are the emblem and the flag.


Khanty-Mansiysk autonomous okrug (historical name of the okrug is Ugra) was established on the 10th of December 1930 as Ostyako-Vogulskiynational okrug with a center in the village Samarovo.

Total number of municipal units is 106.
Administrative center of the okrug is Khanty-Mansiysk.
Square – 534.8 thousand km²
Population (1 Jan. 2013) – 1 612 076 people.
Khanty-Mansiysk autonomous okrug consists of: 13 city districts, 9 municipal districts, 26 urban settlements, 58 rural settlements.

The okrug is the main oil-and-gas bearing region in Russia and one of the biggest oil-producing regions in the world. It is considered to be a region-donor of Russia and takes the lead in several economic indicators: output of oil, output of electrical power, industrial output, natural gas production, investments volume in the capital stock, return of duties in the budget system.
The okrug is situated in the middle part of Russia. It occupies the central part of West Siberian plain.

Climate is strongly continental. Average temperature in January is from 18º till 24º C,
Average temperature in July is from +15.7ºtill+18.4º C.
Information about the okrug –